Thursday, June 5, 2008

Why are all of these scams?

Soo.. I've been looking for a place in Manhattan and whenever I come across a good deal.

It's a scam, and these people are pretty good at it too!

Here is one site
http://square4realty.com

What is wrong with the site... well the following doesn't make it jive. The site says they have been in business since 1998 but the whois record only shows october 2007. A history at archive.org shows... nothing. googling link: square4realty.com only shows one hacked website with a link to it which is NOT good.

Also the email I got the from the lady who claimed she was from NY according to the headers existed in Israel.

They wanted a $49.99 web signup to get an account as well before you could apply.

Another one which seemed to be a pretty good deal ends up sending me this HUGE long message explaining how she is in london and she'll save it for me BUT I need too western union or money order money to her in London.

the email came from Africa according to the headers.

Here's the kicker part of the email (I would post the entire email but it is REALLY long):


--
Also,once i confirm the payment,i will forward you the contract so you can read and sign and thereafter,i will make arrangement with my Cousin who will take you to the apartment and show you round and once you are ready to move in,we will sort out every remaining arrangements and he will also hand over the keys to you.I am not after your money,so let your mind be at rest.God bless you as i wait to read from you soon with the western union money transfer details so i can confirm the money,send you the contract and we can finalise the remaining arrangements.Also,i have little speech problem,am a stammerer but i still get to communicate well,my contact phone number here in London is 447031955932 and if you call,my husband edward will pick the phone and speak with you.Take care.

Diana Johnson.
--

So anyway I am still looking, this whole hunting for an apartment thing isn't easy.

-Myron